clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

West Virginia Mountaineers Vs. Oklahoma State Cowboys Preview: In The Shadow of Boone Pickens

The Mountaineers go to Stillwater after totally playing themselves.

Geoff Coyle/WV Illustrated

OPENING THOUGHTS

I actually did not think about the fall out of WVU’s win over Pitt until after it happened.

Anytime I see 13-9 anywhere I throw up a little. So, when the Mountaineers win over Pitt gave them a 13-9 record, I was all like:

Our executive tweeter Matt had some thoughts as well:

The silver lining if any result in this series is no more 13-9!

But I’d obviously prefer a 16-9 (5-1) record over a 13-12 (2-4) record.

WHEN/WHERE

Game 1: March 31st at 7:30 PM ET/6:30 PM CT (OK State won 3-2)

Game 2: April 1st at 2:00 PM ET/1:00 PM CT (WVU won 5-3 in 10 innings)

Game 3: April 2nd at 1:00 PM ET/Noon CT

Where: Allie P. Reynolds Stadium, Stillwater, OK

Tickets: General Public (Game 1, Game 2, Game 3)

WATCH/LISTEN

TV: Fox Sports Southwest+, FCS Atlantic (Game 1 only)

Streaming Video: Fox Sports Go (or the Fox Sports Go app for smartphones) (Game 1 only) ; YouTube Live (Game 2, Game 3)

Radio: WRLF 94 Rock (94.3 FM in Morgantown) and the Mountaineer Sports Network from IMG (Affiliates) (Games 1 & 2 only)

Streaming Audio: Mountaineer Sports Network from IMG on TuneIn Radio (or the TuneIn Radio app for smartphones)

STARTING PITCHERS (WVU VS. OSU)

Game 1: BJ Myers (2-1, 4.03 ERA) vs. Tyler Buffet (3-2, 4.19 ERA) (Tyler Buffet won, now 4-2)

Game 2: Michael Grove (2-1, 3.28 ERA) vs. Jonathan Heasley (2-2, 2.55 ERA) (Braden Zarbinsky won, now 3-0)

Game 3: Conner Dotson (3-3, 5.53 ERA) vs. Blake Battenfield (2-1, 3.42 ERA)

BIG 12 STANDINGS

TEAM RECORD
TEAM RECORD
#4 TCU (21-4) 7-1
#3 Texas Tech (25-5) 4-1
#24 Oklahoma (24-6) 3-2
West Virginia (14-10) 3-2
Texas (19-11) 4-4
Kansas (11-15) 2-3
Baylor (18-8) 2-4
Oklahoma State (16-10) 1-4
Kansas State (15-12) 0-5

THE ENEMY

Where are they from? Stillwater, Oklahoma

Series History: Oklahoma State leads series 11-4

Last Time: Oklahoma State 8, West Virginia 1 on April 3, 2016 in Granville

SB Nation Blog: Cowboys Ride For Free

Record: 15-9 (0-3 Big 12)

Record in 2016: 43-22 (16-8 Big 12); Eliminated by Arizona in the CWS Semifinals

Head Coach: Josh Holliday

HOW AFRAID SHOULD WE BE? (SCALE 1-10)

Five. I’m as afraid of the Cowboys as I am of Creed from The Office.

PREDICTION THAT WILL BE WRONG

WVU’s heating up. Oklahoma State is a tough matchup, especially in Stillwater, but I believe that the Mountaineers will take the series.

West Virginia wins the series 2-1