clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

West Virginia’s David Sills V finishes as runner up in Biletnikoff Award race


NCAA Football: Iowa State at West Virginia Ben Queen-USA TODAY Sports

Oklahoma State wide receiver James Washington was just named the 2017 Biletnikoff Award winner, which means West Virginia’s David Sills V will finish as a runner up in this year’s race.

Sills finished the regular season with 980 yards and a nation’s best 18 touchdowns on 60 receptions. Sills had four 100-yard or better performances this season, with his career high of 153 yards and three touchdowns coming against East Carolina.

Colorado State’s Michael Gallup rounded out the list of finalists.

Sills becomes the third West Virginia Mountaineer to be snubbed for the award. Stedman Bailey was passed up for the award in 2012, and Kevin White was in the running in 2014.

Sills is expected to return to West Virginia for his senior season, and will look to make his case for the award once again. Past Biletnikoff Award winners include Calvin Johnson, Randy Moss, Amari Cooper, and Larry Fitzgerald.