clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Officials Got The Call Right On Daikiel Shorts’ Touchdown Grab

New, 2 comments

Ok, so even a blind squirrel finds a nut every once in a while.

NCAA Football: Youngstown State at West Virginia Ben Queen-USA TODAY Sports

With nine minutes and twenty-six seconds remaining in the third quarter on Saturday, and West Virginia tied with Youngstown State at fourteen points, Mountaineer quarterback Skyler Howard found Daikiel Shorts in the back left of the end zone on a beautiful fade route to put West Virginia back on top.

On the field, the catch was ruled a touchdown. But before the Mountaineers could kick the extra point, the replay officials decided they needed to take a closer look at the grab. After a few minutes of deliberation, the replay booth let the call stand after the best angle they had of Shorts’ left foot was blocked by the pylon.

So, was Shorts really able to stay inbounds?

Thanks to West Virginia Univerity’s photographer, Dale Sparks of All-Pro Photography, we can safely say Daikiel was in bounds and the officials made the right call, both on the field and in the replay booth. Sometimes the officials get critical calls right, and sometimes they don’t.

Daikiel Shorts gets a toe in bounds WVUSports.com/Dale Sparks Photography

This photo proves, once and for all, that the fade does indeed work. Also, seconds after this photo was taken, security guard bro’s head exploded from the sheer awesomeness of what he had just witnessed.