clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Full 2017 WVU Football Schedule Announced

New, 10 comments

The Big 12 finally announced the conference football schedule for the 2017 season. Now, we can start planning for next fall!

Baylor v West Virginia Photo by Justin Berl/Getty Images

We now know the full 2017 slate for WVU football as the Big 12 Conference released the conference football schedule today. Nine more weekends are now full, starting September 23 and ending November 25. The Big 12 Championship game will be reborn on December 2, 2017.

The Mountaineers will open Big 12 play against Kansas in Lawrence, on Saturday, September 23. WVU will have a bye the week of September 30 and will again be jet-setters, traveling to TCU on October 7.

WVU will hold Homecoming on October 14 and will play Texas Tech. The Mountaineers then travel to Baylor and return home on October 28 for Mountaineer Week against Oklahoma State.

November starts with a home game against Iowa State on November 4, and a trip to Manhattan, Kansas, to play Kansas State on November 11.

The 2017 season concludes with two massive games. On Saturday, November 18, WVU will host Texas in the home finale. Then, the Mountaineers travel to Norman to face Oklahoma on November 25.

WVU opens the 2017 season on Saturday, September 2, against Virginia Tech at FedEx Field in Landover, Maryland. The Mountaineers will then play East Carolina and Delaware State in non-conference play.

2017 West Virginia Football Schedule

Date Opponent
Date Opponent
Sat., Sept. 2 vs. Virginia Tech (Landover, Md.)
Sat., Sept. 9 East Carolina
Sat., Sept. 16 Delaware State
Sat., Sept. 23 at Kansas*
Sat., Oct. 7 at TCU*
Sat., Oct. 14 Texas Tech* (Homecoming)
Sat., Oct. 21 at Baylor*
Sat., Oct. 28 Oklahoma State* (Mountaineer Week)
Sat., Nov. 4 Iowa State*
Sat., Nov. 11 at Kansas State*
Sat., Nov. 18 Texas*
Sat., Nov. 25 at Oklahoma*
Sat., Dec. 2 Big 12 Championship (Arlington, Texas)

Times and broadcast information will be announced later, with most games being determined by the networks in the 12- or six-day windows.