clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WVU Places Three On Phil Steele's All Big 12 First Team

WVU places two on the defensive first team and one on the special teams first team. Twelve Mountaineers made the four teams announced.

Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

Phil Steele released his annual pre-season all conference teams on Monday and the Mountaineers were well represented. WVU placed three members on the first team with 12 players named overall.

Linebacker Nick Kwiatkoski and safety Karl Joseph led the way for the Mountaineers landing on the first team defense along with Josh Lambert taking the first team kicker spot.

Center Tyler Orlosky was the only Mountaineer representing on the second team list.

The third team has five WVU players honored: running back Rushel Shell, defensive lineman Kyle Rose, safety Dravon Henry, punter Nick "Boomstache" O'Toole and punt returner Jordan Thompson.

Finally, on the fourth team are: running back Wendell Smallwood, safety K.J. Dillon and kick returner Shelton Gibson.

(I guess Steele didn't get the memo about our punt returning being handled by others, namely one very confident K.J. DIllon.)

This pre-season list is just that. It's nice to be honored, but don't read too much into it this early in the pre-season.

You can see the full list of honorees HERE.