clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Geno Smith vs. Collin Klein Is The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Marquee Matchup Of The Week

New, 3 comments

Yep, once again, Geno vs. ____ is your matchup of the week. Granted, this one is a big one and much deserved.

Justin K. Aller - Getty Images

Collin Klein and the fourth-ranked Kansas State Wildcats travel to Morgantown, W.Va. to face Geno Smith and the Mountaineers in the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® Marquee Match-up for week eight, as chosen by fans on Facebook.

Throughout the season, the Davey O’Brien will highlight the fan-selected, best weekly quarterback match-up as the race for the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award continues. Quarterbacks from all 124 NCAA Division I FBS schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 22.

Marquee Match-up: No. 4 Kansas State at No. 17 West Virginia
Saturday, October 20 at 7 p.m. (ET) on FOX

After escaping with a narrow victory over Iowa State, Collin Klein and the Kansas State Wildcats (6-0, 3-0 Big 12) will try to remain undefeated when they take on Geno Smith and the West Virginia Mountaineers (5-1, 2-1 Big 12). The game will come down to which quarterback executes their game plan the best. Klein, a run-first quarterback, currently leads all Big 12 quarterbacks with 510 rushing yards and 10 TDs, while Smith, a pass-first quarterback, leads the Big 12 in passing yards per game with 378.50 and passing touchdowns with 24.

Both teams will try to make a statement as the college football season reaches the halfway point. The game will provide a platform for the Mountaineers to bounce back from their first loss of the season, which came against Texas Tech last week, or for the Wildcats to establish themselves as a National Championship contender.

[Taken from Davey O'Brien Award Foundation Press Release]

And be sure to vote for Geno as often as once daily at Fan vote counts toward 5% of each round of the voting process for the national yearly award.