clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Congratulations Ohio State!

Ohio State, playing in it's second-consecutive national championship, took a commanding 10-0 lead early in the 2008 BCS National Championship Game.

Just 1:26 into the game, Chris "Beanie" Wells pierced the massive LSU defensive line and raced down the sideline for a 65 yard TD run. On the Bayou Bengals' first drive, the Buckeyes forced a three-and-out from Matt Flynn and the Tiger offense. Ohio State struck quickly again, going up top with a Todd Boeckman 44 yard completion to Brandon Saine. The Buckeyes would rely on South African kicker Ryan Pretorious to take that aforementioned 10-0 lead.

It was all downhill from there for the LSU Tigers... least until the ensuing kickoff, where they proceeded to score 24 31 unanswered points and absolutely embarrass the Big 10 Champions by a score of 38-24.